Tag You’re It.

Posted: April 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

Last night around 9:30 I had a real moment of clarity about something God was calling me to do. It didn’t come on my face in prayer. It didn’t come listening to some worship music and hanging out in His presence. It didn’t come from reading the Bible. It came at my kitchen table over some crackers and a glass of milk with my 5 year old. Hunter was having a snack before bed and we just sat and talked for about 10-15 minutes. I asked about his day. We laughed at silly things that dads and sons laugh about. The TV wasn’t on. Nobody else was around. There were no distraction. It was just really great father son hang out time.

He finished his snack I took him upstairs, prayed with him, kissed him goodnight, walked out of his room and thought “Man, that was awesome we gotta do that more often.” I spend a lot of time with my kids, I’m not an uninvolved parent, but last night there was something different about those few moments around the table that were special. Maybe it was the quietness of our house at 9:30 at night. Maybe something about being alone without distraction that made it special. I can’t put my finger on what it was but those few moments were very special to me. As I walked out of Hunter’s room God spoke to me and said “I want that kind of Father/son time with you more often.”

As a father those uninterrupted few moments with my son were priceless and I began to get a better revelation as to why God desires to have those moments with us. Moments away from the noise. Moments without distraction. Moments to just talk. Moments where He talks and we listen. Just Father/son time with His kids. I believe God desires as a father, not just as THE HEAVENLY FATHER but as a father, to have moments with us.

I mean look at God in the garden with Adam and Eve. Everyday in the cool of the day he’d come walk with them. Why? Because those moments with His children are special to Him. Why do you think He sent Jesus to die for us? I know it was to save us but I think more than that it was so He could have moments with us. I mean for thousands of years God had made a way for His people to get their sins forgiven. There was a whole process they went through but they were forgiven. But they didn’t have access to moments with God like we do know. They didn’t have the ability to approach God like we do now but when Jesus died and rose again and the veil that separated us from Him was tore in half.

God desires moments with you. He really DESIRES them. But ultimately it’s not up to Him if they happen or not it’s up to us. He always there waiting but it our choice whether or not we step into those moments and put away the distractions. John 6:44 says that He initiates the drawing of us to Him but it’s up to us how we respond to His drawing.  AW Tozer said it this way “The impulse to pursue God originates with God, but the outworking of that impulse is our following hard after Him.” He draws us but it’s our response to the drawing that makes the relationship work. The more we respond to His drawing the more we desire to be drawn and the more we desire His drawing the more we’ll respond with yes. It’s like a game of tag with God but the prize at the end isn’t a ribbon, it’s a moment with the God that created all we see and loves us more than we’ll ever know. Moments with God produce a prize that will never gather dust on a shelf,  rust away or fade to nothing that prize will be around for eternity. You’ll never one time be sorry for a moment you spend in communion with God but as you’ll look back over your life you’ll regret every time a temporal distraction kept you from a moment with the eternal God.

So, tag you’re it.


Leave a Reply

